Persisting dry conditions are prompting New York State officials to place 22 counties under a drought warning including the Ithaca, Elmira and Corning areas as well as counties further to the west.

The rest of the state is under a drought advisory.

Owego, Endicott, the Town of Union and Whitney Point are asking residents to voluntarily conserve water.

In all, residents are asked to avoid big, water-drawing activities like watering lawns, filling swimming pools and washing cars.  Other suggestions are shorter showers, cutting back on laundry loads and fixing dripping faucets.



More From WNBF News Radio 1290 AM & 92.1 FM