The 69th Annual Binghamton University Athletics Awards Banquet was held last (Monday) evening at the Events Center.  The dinner honored several hundred student athletes for their excellence in the classroom and in athletic competition.  Members of all teams were recognized and senior members were introduced and received awards. With many spring sports still underway the Athlete of the Year Awards will be announced in mid-June.

WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo
WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo


Major award winners include:

The John Bilos Award presented to the graduating male and female athletes who have shown significant career athletic achievement.  The male athlete winner is tennis standout Sid Hazarika and the female winner is softball great Sydney Harbaugh.

The Jessie A Godfrey Award is presented to the senior woman who has made a major contribution to the BU athletics program.  This year's recipient is basketball player Kim Albrecht.  Kim led the nation in free throw percentage at 91.4% converting 85 of 93 free throw attempts.

The Jake Pitler Award is given to a graduating senior male for significant contributions to the athletic program.  This year's winner is track star Jesse Garn.

Student athletes and guests enjoyed dinner and heard presentations from student speakers David Schanz from the Bearcats baseball team and cross country runner Alexis Hatcher.



More From WNBF News Radio 1290 AM & 92.1 FM