Have a Loud Muffler or Exhaust System? New York About To Dole Out Tickets
Effective Friday, April 1, 2022, if you have an “excessively noisy” muffler or exhaust system, you can expect that there is a great chance you might be pulled over and issued a ticket. This doesn’t just impact motorists; it also impacts mechanics and shops.
New York is no stranger to handing out fines for loud mufflers or exhaust systems, but in October of 2021, New York Governor Kathy Hochul signed a new bill that would bump up fines for loud exhaust noise violations across the state from $150.00 to $1,000. The law is part of New York state's "Stop Loud and Excessive Exhaust Pollution Act," or SLEEP Act.
According to SEMA's catalog of exhaust noise laws, New York will now carry the harshest fine for exhaust noise in any of the 50 states. The new fine in New York doubles the fine that Colorado issues which is $500.00.
The New York Times claims that the issue of loud mufflers and exhaust systems was raised thanks in large part to illegal drag racing taking place across the state. No matter the reason the issue was raised and then signed into law by Governor Hochul, the fine is meant to sting enough that it will sway the operator to quickly fix the noise issue.
The new law, which goes into effect on Friday, April 1, 2022, will prohibit the sale of devices that increase the noise level of a muffler making it louder than “the system originally installed on a motor vehicle.” This means you can not modify your muffler or exhaust system solely to make it sound louder.
Additionally, the law will prohibit the installation of such devices that increase the loudness of a muffler or exhaust system and it comes with not only the $1,000 fine but also the possibility of a 30-day jail sentence. Anyone found operating a vehicle with a modified muffler or exhaust system or anyone found installing banned devices will face a fine and/or jail penalty.
The new law also impacts those who operate a motorcycle that is excessively loud. The fine for loud motorcycles will be (effective April 1, 2022) $500.00 and/or a 30-day stint in jail.