New York is adding five states and removing none from its quarantine list.  

William Thomas Cain/Getty Images
William Thomas Cain/Getty Images


People coming to New York from Arizona, Minnesota, Nevada, Rhode Island and Wyoming have to quarantine for 14 days to avoid the spread of the coronavirus from those hot-spot states. 

Those states have met the metrics set by New York of a positive test rate higher than ten per 100-thousand residents over a seven-day rolling average or an area with a ten percent or higher positivity rate over a seven-day rolling average. 

There 35 states and territories on the travel advisory list.

WNBF News Radio 1290 AM & 92.1 FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app


The state is working to hold the line on the spread of the COVID-19 pandemic after struggling to rise above being the area with the most infections and deaths in the nation at the start of the outbreak a little over 200 days ago. 

September 22, New York announced 754 new infections for a total of 451,225 and three new deaths for a total of 25,432 since the start of the pandemic. 

Broome County has had 1,353 positive cases and 82 deaths.  Seven cases were added over the weekend.  Chenango County, as of Monday, reported 248 cases and seven deaths, Cortland County reported 207 cases September 22, up six from September 21, and one death.  Delaware County reports a new death for a death toll of seven and two additional positive tests for a total of 120 cases.  Tioga County’s positive cases increased by one from September 20 to 231 and 25 deaths. 

Binghamton University had one new case reported September 22 for a total 59. There have been eight positive results in the past seven days at the university. 

UP NEXT: See how much gasoline cost the year you started driving


More From WNBF News Radio 1290 AM & 92.1 FM