The stars will soon be lighting up the silver screen again in parts of New York following the coronavirus lockdown, but not in Broome or Tioga Counties.

WNBF News Radio 1290 AM & 92.1 FM logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

New York Governor Andrew Cuomo on October 17 announced the reopening of some movie theaters outside of New York City after the businesses  have been dark since the outbreak of the pandemic in March.


The theaters that are not in cluster zones outside of New York City can reopen beginning October 23 with a restriction of 25 percent capacity and a maximum of 50 people per screen.  Masks are required to be worn at all times and seats will be blocked off to ensure social distancing.

Counties must have a positivity rate below 2% on a 14-day average and have no “cluster zones."

Broome, Cortland and Tioga Counties are all among the counties excluded from reopening.

Broome is currently struggling to pull sections along out of a Yellow Zone designation where there has been a spike in coronavirus positive test results over the past month.

Broome reported 44 new cases October 18.

Cortland County is not under a cluster zone but reported 32 new cases October 17.

Tioga County added 14 cases from its October 16 report.

October 5, the Regal movie theater chain, which operates the largest theater in Broome County on Upper Front Street, announced it would close all 536 U.S. theaters.

Five Photos That Show Binghamton's Rich History

More From WNBF News Radio 1290 AM & 92.1 FM