Broome County’s Republican Committee is to continue to be steered by current chairman Bijoy Datta.

Broome County Republican chairman Bijoy Datta in July 2014. (Photo: Bob Joseph/WNBF News)

Datta has been unanimously re-elected to his fourth, two-year term.

Datta said he’s looking forward to candidate recruitment and upcoming campaigns with a focus on “keeping taxes down and reducing the size of government.”

Republicans have also selected Chris Dziedzic First Vice Chair, Benjamin Federman Secretary and Laurie Gialanella Treasurer.

Mark Smith has been nominated to serve as the new Republican Election Commissioner to replace Oliver Blaise III.  Blaise recently resigned after announcing his candidacy for New York State Supreme Court Justice.

More information about the Broome Republican Party can be found at