Truckers in New York Being Ticketed if Decals Missing
New York State Police and the state Department of Taxation and Finance are enforcing a new requirement that took effect at the beginning of this year that requires stickers on certain trucks to show the operators have registered to pay the state highway user tax.
The highway user tax applies to vehicles with a gross weight exceeding 18,000 pounds. Fines ranges from $100-$250 for the first offense.
Exceptions include trucks transporting automotive fuel, buses and government and highway construction vehicles.
The Department of Taxation and Finance reports the majority of registrations has been online. A total of 54,000 have registered. The DTF say that results in collections of $3.5 million in outstanding taxes.
Once an operator registers, they are issued a sticker that must be displayed on the front bumper.