A dozen New York State counties affected by flash flooding over the past several weeks are in line to get help from the federal government.

President Barack Obama has signed a disaster declaration for twelve counties struggling to recover from damage resulting from heavy rain and flooding that started June 28 and seemed to be a daily occurrence through July 4.

Chenango, Cortland, Delaware, Oneida, Otsego, Allegany, Franklin, Herkimer, Madison, Montgomery, Niagara and Warren Counties are included in the declaration and are eligible for funds from the Federal Emergency Management Agency. More locations could possibly be added.

FEMA has issued a fact sheet concerning the aid programs under the New York declaration. Assistance for the local governments can include payment of not less than 75% of the eligible costs for emergency protective measures that were taken to save lives and protect property, repairing or replacing public infrastructures like roads, bridges and utilities as well as hazard mitigation projects.

Meanwhile, Governor Andrew Cuomo says he's concerned about private property owners who suffered severe damage.  He says the state will make sure that those residents are not left with crushing expenses if the federal government doesn't cover recovery costs.