Contact Us

Disaster Recovery Money Earmarked For the Southern Tier

Matthew Cavanugh, Getty Images

Broome, Tioga and Delaware counties are among 102 localities in New York State to divide over $750 million to help on-going efforts to recover from the extensive flood damage suffered in recent natural disasters.

Governor Andrew Cuomo and U.S. Housing and Urban Development Secretary Shaun Donovan have launched the New York Rising Community Reconstruction Program to help communities to develop rebuilding plans geared to their own specific needs.

In Broome County, Conklin, Johnson City, the Town of Union, Vestal and Binghamton are due to get at least $3 million each.  In Tioga County, $3 million will be going to the towns and villages of Nichols and Owego and in Delaware County, funds have been designated for Margaretville and Sidney.

The funding is based on Federal Emergency Management Agency assessed damage levels and applications for new infrastructure.

The program has been launched in response to damage from Hurricane Irene and Tropical Storm Lee in 2011 and last fall’s Superstorm Sandy.

Best of 1290 WNBF

Recommended For You

Best Of The Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for News-Breakers Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive News-Breakers Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.