Contact Us

Cooperstown Welcomes Six Into the Baseball Hall of Fame

An estimated 48,000  fans were in Cooperstown yesterday as the Baseball Hall of Fame welcomed in six new members.  Frank Thomas, Greg Maddux, Tom Glavine, Tony LaRussa, Bobby Cox and Joe Torre all were inducted in ceremonies at the Clark Sports Center.

Frank Thomas blasted 521 home runs over a 19-year Major League career.  Tom Glavine won 305 games in 22 seasons with the Braves and Mets.  Greg Maddux was the victor in 355 Major League outings and won

WNBF News/Roger Neel Photo

four consecutive Cy Young Awards.  Three of the game’s greatest managers also were enshrined.

Bobby Cox managed the Atlanta Braves and Toronto Blue Jays for 29 seasons.  He was named Manager of the Year four times.  He led the Braves to the post-season in 15 consecutive seasons.  They won five pennants and the 1995 World Series under his tutelage.

Tony LaRussa managed the White Sox, Oakland and the Cardinals over 33 seasons.  He led his teams to three World Series championships and earned Manager of the Year honors four times.  He and Sparky Anderson are the only managers to win World Series titles in both leagues and the only manager to win All-Star games in both leagues.

Joe Torre managed 29 seasons in the Major Leagues including stints with the Mets, Braves, Cardinals and Dodgers.  His greatest success came with the Yankees where his teams won six pennants and four World Series crowns in 12 seasons .  He earned Manager of the Year honors twice.  Torre was also a standout player.  In 18 years as a big league catcher/third baseman Torre was named to nine All-Star Game clubs. He also won the National League MVP Award in 1971.

Best of 1290 WNBF

Recommended For You

Best Of The Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for News-Breakers Club quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive News-Breakers Club contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.